top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Durso

The Acceptable Sacrifice I


“Sacrifice and offering You did not desire; My ears You have opened.  Burnt offering and sin offering You did not require.  Then I said, “Behold, I come; In the scroll of the book it is written of me. I delight to do Your will, O my God, And Your law is within my heart.”  Psalm 40:6-8

God does not require a sin offering from man because man is not capable of offering a sacrifice that is acceptable in His sight.   Even if there were a man who never sinned, such a man could only offer a sacrifice for himself, he could never offer himself for everyone.  Only the infinite God who assumed to himself human nature could offer a sacrifice for all those for whom He died. 

The Christian understands that he could never offer a sacrifice acceptable to God, and is eternally thankful for God’s Son who did! 

bottom of page