top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Durso

PREACH THE WORD

“It is a trustworthy statement: for if we died with Him, we will also live with Him; If we endure, we will also reign with Him; if we deny Him, He also will deny us; if we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself. (2 Timothy 2:11-13)

One day this week I began to talk to a man and began to turn the conversation toward a gospel witness. He however, turned it toward politics. We spoke briefly about character and matters of morality and eventually I used the gay word. He responded by saying, “I’m gay”.

I felt as though I had put my foot in my proverbial mouth. I thought for a second and said, “It is not my place to judge anyone for how they live or the choices they make. Neither is homosexuality any different than a  man who cheats on his wife.

I then went on to say, “You do realize that if the entire world was gay this would be the last generation. The world would end here and now. There is something unnatural about being gay” He replied, “The world is overpopulated.” To which I replied, “Do you realize that the entire population of the world can fit within the city of Jacksonville, Florida? Over population is not the problem but people not being able to get along. Instead of people pulling together, helping each other, and looking out for one another, we fight and make war in a hundred different ways.”

He turned to me and said, “We may not be as far apart as you might think.” I said, “I think you’re right.” He had to go, so we shook hands and he said, “I hope I see you again so that we could talk some more.”

In Genesis 19 the sin of Sodomy is recorded, which led to the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. This story is repeated more than any other in the Bible. So much is said today about religious tolerance, but how much love is their by telling people that what they are doing is okay when God’s word declares something completely different.

No sin is acceptable to God and it does not become acceptable just because we say so. It is my hope that I will have the chance to speak to that young man once again so that I might complete the good news of God’s forgiveness, grace, and mercy.

Image result for image for never minimize sin
bottom of page