top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Durso

Jesus is our Lord and Friend


Best friends are intimate with each other; intimacy is the freedom to share who you are without fear of rejection. In – to – me – you – see is the dynamic of intimacy, that which makes sharing personal. True friendship is a gift from God.

It is difficult for sinful people to accept the fact that God is Lord, and all creation must submit to Him as slaves, it is equally difficult to believe that a holy God would call sinful people His friends. However, that is what Jesus said.


“Greater love has no man than this that a man lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends, if you do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not slaves; for the slave knows not what his lord does: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.” John 15:13-15


We have all heard it said, ‘You are on a need to know basis, and you do not need to know.’ In a Master slave relationship, you might expect to hear, ‘Do what I say, and do not ask questions.’ Jesus, however, welcomes His slaves into a fuller, richer, and more intimate relationship with Himself. ‘I do not only call you slaves but friends,’ and then He communicates all things that He hears from the Father.

We are not only privileged to be forgiven, adopted into the family of God, made heirs and joint heirs with Christ, but we are made to know God, intimately through His Son. “And I have declared to them Your name, and will declare it, that the love with which You loved Me may be in them, and I in them.”

John 17:26 (Emphasis added)


The Christian is overwhelmed with the prospect of knowing Christ; to know Him is to receive the best in life, and to miss Him is to miss everything of value!

bottom of page