top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Durso

God Almighty

Tender Loving Care Omnipotence


In Hebrew the name for God Almighty is El Shaddai; El is exalted, lifted up, above all, and the term Shad means breast, or The Strong Breasted One. God is saying in this name that He is to His people as a strong caring mother is to the baby that sits at her breast. God supplies all that is necessary for His people to flourish.

“And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be perfect. And I will make my covenant between me and thee, and will multiply thee exceedingly.” Genesis 17:1-2


There was nothing in father Abraham that made him special, one only need read the story of his life to see he was not what God asked, ‘…and be perfect…” The encouraging part of the story is what God promised to Abraham and to his offspring.

“…a father of many nations have I made you.” Vs4, “I will make you exceeding fruitful…” Vs 6, “I will make nations of you…” Vs 6, “I Will establish my covenant between me and you and your seed…” Vs 7, “I will give unto you and to your seed after you, the land…” Vs 8

In each instance, God promises fruit (offspring) to Abraham, so that God will be seen as the one who brings forth those who will become God fearing and obedient. God supplies the land, the people, and the fruit that the people produce.

God is Almighty, powerful, the source of all things, and He does so with tender loving care!

Should we trust in anything else?

bottom of page