top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Durso

ANNIVERSARY’S LESSON

15622021_10208231255515239_9134512256041020376_n

This week my wife and I are married forty-three years.  Many are the lessons that are learned when two people are married that length of time. The thing is, the same lesson can be learned many times, and each time our understanding is deepened; and the impact that it makes on our decision making ability is strengthend.

During this week I spent time in Peter’s first letter, “For you have been called for this purpose, since Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example for you to follow in His steps, who committed no sin, nor was any deceit found in His mouth; and while being reviled, He did not revile in return; while suffering, He uttered no threats, but kept entrusting Himself to Him who judges righteously…” (1 Peter 2:21-23)

The purposes that we (believers) have been called to are stated in chapter 3.  Women and wives are to submit even to an unbelieving husband. “…With the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God.” Vs 4. Men, “In the same way” that is, in the same way as Christ submitted Himself to the will of the Father.  Men and husbands are to, “…live with your wives in an understanding way, as with someone weaker, since she is a woman; and show her honor as a fellow heir of the grace of life, so that your prayers will not be hindered.” (1 Peter 3:7)

The lesson: my relationship with my wife is so important, and interwoven with my relationship to God, that when it’s broken, it hurts my prayer life.  This is no small matter to a man who depends on God.

My relationship with my wife is so relevant, that I can’t walk with God productively, unless I walk with my wife well. To all you husbands out there, pay attention to what I’m writing, because it will affect the most important relationship you’ll ever have. The way you interact with God, depends on the way you treat your wife. And my wife says – AMEN!

If you have not already, be sure and check out my book, THE JESUS YOU NEED TO KNOW.

Joe Durso - cover 6x9

Do you value godly character? Do you understand that Christianity is not just an intellectual exercise, but is meant to transform its hearers by faith. The transformation that is meant to take place is into the image and likeness of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

The focus of THE JESUS YOU NEED TO KNOW uncovers, from God’s word, the person that God’s people are meant to be conformed to. If you are not a Christian, this book is meant to reveal what you are missing.

bottom of page